|
Database Access
Accessing the DB's |
Additional Online Resources
Access to subscription
databases at the LRC is generally done either through Sullivan
University Library's web page and
will require valid Sullivan University
System registration information. Some databases may be accessed
through other sites like the
Kentucky Virtual Library.
See also: Frequently Asked
Questions (FAQ)
User's should be aware
of Spencerian College's
Computer Use
Policy.
Take some time and learn to use the
advance search features in databases.
Learn to evaluate the
web pages and information that you find. See the
Evaluating Web Sites
page.
Remember -- Not everything is on the
Internet and "Anyone" can put up a
web page.
Accessing
the Databases
Go to the Sullivan
University Library's web page:
http://library.sullivan.edu

-
select
Article and
E-Books
from the left menu -or- select the tab option Search Databases
These will take you to different screens, more on this below.
-
Selecting
Articles and E-Books
from the left menu will bring you to the
Atricles and E-Books screen.
You will need to click on
the title
Login to Databases
- see red box below.

-
Alternately, selecting the
Search Databases tab will open the
Search Databases tab (screen below).

Click on Access the databases
and you will be taken to
the screen above this one Articles and
E-Books - follow the instructions there.
-
OFF CAMPUS
- If you are accessing from off campus, after you click
Login to Databases on
the Articles and
E-Books screen a pop-up screen will appear - yours may look different
then the one below
- where you will enter your login verification
information.

Enter your User Name
and Password - the one you use to login to the
network or Student Portal.
You may have to enter suscorp\ before before your User Name,
example,
suscorp\jstude1234,
please note the use of the backslash \ - not a
forward slash /,
Click OK.
-
The
Databases screen should appear - see below.
Popular Databases and Trial Databases
are provided here for easy access, they are not the only databases
we subscribe to. For more information or if you are asked for
a login info and password see
the Databases by Alphabetical List.
Under All Databases select
Databases by Alphabetical List to see an
annotated list of the databases as well as additional inforamtion,
or, select
Databases by Subject.
Please
note - if you are accessing from
off-campus
the Databases by Alphabetical
List will provide you with additional
off-campus access instructions, passwords and login information you
will need to access certain databases and services.

TOP
END
More on online
databases
Subscription databases
are accessed through Sullivan University Library's web page as
described above and require a valid SUS password and ID. See
below for database information available on the Internet.
For an alphabetical list with description and additional information
when logged into the databases click on
Databases by Alphabetical List or
Databases by Subject.
Tips…
Learn to use the
features in the Basic and Advanced searches to help
limit results.
If you know the specific journal you want to search click on the
Publications tab and you can limit to a specific journal or
website, if it is indexed by ProQuest. Use the Topics tab for
more general subject area searches.
For how-to
information on accessing EbscoHOST,
ProQuest and other subscription databases see the information given
above on this page. To go
directly to the Sullivan University Library's
web page to begin searching - you will need a valid Spencerian/SUS
user name and password.
Additional article and online information may
be available on the Internet and through other databases as well.
See also:
The
Directory of Open Access Journals.
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific
and scholarly journals. Browse by subject is available.
The Center for Disease
Control (CDC) Publications - a large list of journals, etc.,
many with full text access.
PubMed
Central - the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital
archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature,
providing free access to the full text of articles.
PubMed.com -
PubMed comprises more than 19 million citations for biomedical
articles from MEDLINE and life science journals back to 1948. PubMed
includes links to full-text articles which may be found in other
databases such as PubMed Central or at publisher web sites. (US
National Library of Medicine / The National Institutes of
Health)
See also --
additional web sites on LRC pages that may give access to journals and
articles.
See also -- the LRC Resources
section for additional searching information and the handout Finding
Articles Online.
TOP
END
|